People in office around table

CEEMAN case writing competition

Competition now closed

The 2021 CEEMAN/Emerald case writing competition is now closed.

The aim of the competition is to encourage and promote the development of high-quality teaching case material relevant to the realities of dynamic and emerging economies and at the same time promote the development of case-writing capabilities in those countries. 

In the spirit of a fully inclusive competition, global submissions are encouraged. The co-organisers will support global exposure of the submitted high-quality cases through a direct link with the Emerald Emerging Markets Case Studies collection (EMCS), a growing collection of over 690 case studies with teaching notes. All case submissions will be considered for international publication in EMCS.

The total CEEMAN/Emerald award prize pool is worth over €10,000, including €2,500 for the winner!

Prizes are also awarded to the two runners-up.

Compulsory submission criteria

  • Cases should have a developing and emerging markets focus (Central and Eastern Europe, Latin America, Africa, Asia, Oceania and Middle East).
  • All cases should be teaching cases based on a real situation in a real company, with a clear decision-making situation, and prepared in accordance with case writing guidelines provided in the instructional materials below.
  • Academic (research) cases will not be accepted for evaluation by the jury.
  • Case studies submitted should not have been published before in their current or substantially similar form, or be under consideration for publication in any ISSN/ ISBN-registered publication or with any other case-centre.
  • Cases will be automatically entered into the peer review process. Selected cases will be published in Emerald Emerging Markets Case Studies collection (ISSN 2045 0621). By participating in the competition, you are automatically agreeing to having your case study published in EMCS, provided it is accepted for publication after peer review and rounds of revision (if required).
  • All case studies must be accompanied by a consent to publish release form which has been completed and signed by the management of the company or individuals included in the case.

Important dates

  • Submission deadline now closed.
  • Award ceremony: Winners will be announced during the CEEMAN Annual Meeting at the CEEMAN Annual Conference, taking place on 22-24 September 2021 in Trieste, Italy.

Get in touch

If you have any questions about the case study competition, contact our cases publisher, Gabi Rundle

Email Gabi


Živa Žmavc Thongvanh, CEEMAN Project Manager

Email Živa

Our awards