Steve Baron Award for Outstanding Contribution to the Service Research Community

Journal of Services Marketing

Steve Baron

The service research community is a global network of service academics who are interested in topics ranging from co-creation of value, the customer experience, transforming lives through service, service innovation and service systems.

This community started from a few academics in the 1970s to become a thriving group of thousands of researchers in over 100 countries. Part of the success of the service field of research can be attributed to the efforts by senior scholars in nurturing junior colleagues and students, providing critical advice on manuscripts, editorial roles and hosting events and conferences.

The Journal of Services Marketing (JSM) seeks to recognise scholars who play a key role in mentoring others in the field and in helping young scholars become leaders in the services field.  JSM has initiated this award in the name of the former editor, Professor Steve Baron, from Liverpool University, UK (now retired).  Steve was not only a leading scholar in the field of services with contributions made over a 25-year period, but he is someone who typified altruism in helping others with scholarly service.  He is the epitome of gentleman and a scholar.

The award

The award is bi-annual commencing in 2018 and is announced at the AMA ServSig conference. The ethos of the award is therefore to recognise the altruistic behaviour of service scholars that may go un-noticed in the quest for journal rankings and output but that is essential for the wellbeing of scholars in the services community and the growth of the discipline.

Award winners

For a list of previous award winners visit this page: Previous award winners of the Steve Baron Award

2020 – Professor Ray Fisk, Texas State University, USA

Professor Ray Fisk has advocated for and nurtured the global services community across his long career. Commencing with founding and chairing the American Marketing Association Services Special Interest Group (AMA SERVSIG) in 1993 and hosting the very first SERVSIG International Research Conference in New Orleans in 1999. This SERVSIG conference has been held eleven times and has attracted about 2,000 service scholars and students from over 45 countries. Ray has served SERVSIG in many other leadership roles and has attended and spoken at every SERVSIG Conference. Ray is an active scholar in fostering opportunities for other service scholars through more than five special issues in service journals and five special sessions at service conferences over the past forty years. Ray has held multiple positions on international committees including President the AMA Academic Council and serving in numerous officer roles. He has mentored many service doctoral students formally and informally. More recently Ray established ServCollab, a nonprofit human services organization devoted to "Serving Humanity Through Collaboration." Ray is described by his colleagues as a collaborative leader who has performed essential roles in helping build today's vibrant service community.

Nomination Process

  1. Call for nominations issued on the SERVSIG website and Facebook page in even numbered years i.e. 2020, 2022, 2024, 2026.
  2. Nominations to be made by a colleague or students of the nominee via an email to the JSM editors with a link to the nominee’s online profile,  one paragraph explanation of the reason for nomination and the email address of the nominee. Send to [email protected] and [email protected]. Deadlines for nominations is 30 April 2022.
  3. The JSM editors will contact the nominee to advise of their nomination and request the nominee provide a one page summary of service and their CV to the JSM senior editor  [email protected]
  4. Nominations to be assessed by judging panel
  5. Recipient announced at SERVSIG conference awards event.

Ineligibility: Current co-editors and associate editors of JSM, current chairs of SERVSIG

Judging criteria:

  • Minimum length of academic service: ten years
  • Evidence of consistent service to the community (e.g. hosting events, mentoring junior colleagues, developing initiatives that support the community)
  • One page testimonial from a service scholar(s) to demonstrate how the nominee has impacted others: could be from a single person or multiple people

2022 Judging panel:

  • Co-editors of JSM; Rebekah Russell-Bennett and Mark Rosenbaum
  • SERVSIG co-chairs: Linda Alkire and Sertan Kabadayi
  • Steve Baron