2016 Emerald/EFMD Outstanding Doctoral Research Awards

International recognition and cash awards for the best doctoral research

Judging in progress: submissions no longer being accepted

Logo: EFMD.Emerald Group Publishing Limited, publisher of the largest collection of international business and management journals, and EFMD, an international network association with more than 820 members from academia, business, public sector and consultancy across 83 countries worldwide, seek to celebrate excellence in research by sponsoring the 2016 Emerald/EFMD Outstanding Doctoral Research Awards.



Award-winning entries will receive a cash prize of €1,500 (or currency equivalent), a certificate and a winners' logo to attach to correspondence. In addition, a number of Highly Commended Awards will be bestowed. This year there are seven categories.

Applicants submitted to one of the categories below.

Operations and production management

Category sponsored by International Journal of Operations & Production Management

Logistics and supply chain management

Category sponsored by International Journal of Physical Distribution & Logistics Management

Educational leadership and strategy

Category sponsored by Journal of Educational Administration

Management and governance

Category sponsored by Management Decision

Human resource management

Category sponsored by Personnel Review

Leadership and organization development

Category sponsored by Leadership & Organization Development Journal

Health care management

Category sponsored by Journal of Health Organization and Management

If you are unsure of which category to submit to please feel free to contact us, and after consultation with our editorial team, we can suggest that which is most appropriate.

Key dates

  • The closing date for applications is 15 January 2017.
  • Winners will be announced in March/April 2017.

For further information, please read the Frequently Asked Questions.


Jim Bowden
Academic Relations Manager
E-mail: jbowden@emeraldinsight.com

Previous winners


To be eligible for the awards, the research must address an issue that is of importance to one of the various subject areas listed here.

The awards are open to those who have completed and satisfied examination requirements for a doctoral award, between 15 Jan 2014 and 15 January 2017, and have not applied previously for one of these awards.

Judging criteria

The entries will be judged by the Editor(s) and at least one Editorial Advisory Board member of the sponsoring journal. Entries will be judged on the following criteria:

  1. Significance/implications for theory and practice.
  2. Originality and innovation.
  3. Appropriateness and application of the methodology.
  4. Quality of data/research.

Shortlisted applicants may be required to answer further questions as appropriate from the judging panel. Winners will be required to submit an unpublished paper, sole- or joint-authored, derived from the research, within six months of winning the Award. The Editors reserve the right not to select a winning paper if, in their judgment, none of the entries is considered satisfactory.

Please note that the decision of the judges is final. Due to the large number of submissions, applicants will not receive any feedback.